The Media Club               
of Ottawa

Celebrating 100 Years
Founded in 1916 as the Ottawa Women's Press Club,
 joining the Canadian Women's Press Club four years later,
the Media Club of Ottawa presents monthly programs of significance
 to professionals in all branches of the communications field. 
Our program offers a stimulating variety of speakers, 
workshops and social events

Monthly meetings take place  at Ottawa City Hall,
Billings Room
, 110 Laurier Ave West
on the second-last Monday of the month 
 August 2016
The Galley  Books by members About Awards Members News

Media Club of Ottawa
 Executive  2015-2016
President,  June Coxon
Secretary-Treasurer.Iris ten Holder
Board of Directors: June Coxon,  Iris ten Holder, Janet Webb, Helen Bednarek Van Eyk
Are you a writer, a journalist, a reporter for other media, TV, Radio? The Media Club of Ottawa is looking for new members and for volunteers to fill several key positions
Membership Fee is $60

Membership Application


21 September
Helene Cayer
Topic: Fundraising

26 October 2015
Kirsten  Smith, freelance journalist, Past President CAJ
Topic:  Researching skills: tips  for journalist & other writers

Ottawa City Hall

16 November 2015
Dr.  John  Kelly -  Associate Journalism Professor, Carleton University.  Writer, co-director, Centre for Indigenous Research, Culture, Language and Education (CIRCLE)
 Creative Photojournalism Today
Margaret Graham Award presentation
City Hall

December 2015

February 27, 2016
Twitter for Journalists 2.0. A workshop with Steve Ladurantaye, award winning journalist, head of Canadian News and Government Partnerships for Twitter; plus Ottawa's biggest Tweeter
Algonquin College

21 March 2016
Ottawa City Hall

 18 April 2016
Speaker, Glen Gower, communications and marketing consultant, publisher of
 Topic: A Like-Hate Relationship - Social Media's Impact on Community News from an Editorial and Business Perspective.
Ottawa City Hall

16 May 2016
Speaker: Doris-Maria Heilmann
Topic: The difference between real & vanity publishing
Ottawa City Hall

June 2016

Program suggestions for next year are welcome


Quick Links



In the News - first quarter

In the News - second quarter

Members' News

Meeting Reports


In the News
Nov. 4 - Amazon opens first physical bookstore
Dec. 31  - La Presse ends daily paper

Jan. 6. - Poet laureate named: George Elliott Clarke
Jan. 6 - letter to the editor from Mary Ellen Kot about a letter sent by one of our student award winners
Jan. 13 - Andrew Potter leaves Ottawa Citizen
Jan. 26 - CRTC Hearing
Jan. 26 - Guelph Mercury closes
Feb. 8 -   New Media Regulations
Feb. 12 - Photographer Ted Grant receives Order of Canada
Feb. 13 - Radio's Digital Renaissance
Feb. 18 - CRTC
Feb. 18 - Sutcliffe fired
Feb. 19 - Privacy and technology
Feb. 23 - Margo Goodall, former Edmonton Journal editor talks about the state of journalism on CBC
Feb. 24 - Press Gallery Celebrates 150 Years
April 1 -  Vice Ordered to Hand Over Communication in Terror Case
April 2 - CBC is Forced to Face Ugly Truths About it's Brutalist HQ
April 6 - The Globe and Mail has won an award for best series in a daily newspaper
April 7 - Community newspaper champion Mike Mount retires

Read more in The Galley



 Meetings held in previous years:

The links below will show a list of speakers for the year 

to be resumed as soon as possible
web savvy volunteer welcome.For more information email the webmaster.


Award Programs

The Margaret Graham Award
is awarded yearly in November to students at the University of Ottawa, Algonquin College and Carleton University

This year' recipients were:
Amelia Buchanan, Algonquin College
Rachel Lindgren, Carleton University
Melba Lent Woelflé Award
Awarded yearly in June to a journalism student with excellent writing skill at Algonquin College
This year's recipient was Nicole McCormick


  • To subscribe to our Mailing list
    Click here


    2015-2016 Events

     May 16, 2016
    The difference between real & vanity publishing
    Speaker: Doris-Maria Heilmann

    April  18, 2016

    A Like-Hate Relationship - Social Media's Impact on Community News from an Editorial and Business Perspective.

    Speaker: Glen Gower, communications and marketing consultant, publisher of

    March 21, 2016

    Panel Discussion

    The Implications of Media Concentration for Robust Journalism

    Panelists: Phil Jenkins, Ottawa Citizen columnist and author; Dwayne Winseck, professor, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University and director of the Canadian Media Concentration Research Project since 2009; Bob Brocklebank, chair Glebe Report Association.

    February 27, 2016

    Twitter for Journalists 2.0

    The event took place on February 27, 2016 at Algonquin College, hosted by Joe Banks, journalism professor at the college.

    The speaker, Steve Ladurantaye, an Algonquin College graduate is an award winning journalist and currently  head of Canadian News and Government Partnerships for Twitter. His job involves working with Canada's top lawmakers, government ministries, non-profit organizations, newsrooms and schools to develop world-leading content strategies and to ensure they are getting the most out of every Tweet they send.

    This two-time National Newspaper award winner launched the Ottawa Business Journal's 
    24-hour breaking news website in 1999, worked to serve Robertson Davies' legacy at the
    Peterborough Examiner and guided the Kingston Whig-Standard through a period of difficult change. 

           Prior to joining Twitter, Ladurantaye was a journalist at the Globe and Mail, covering a wide range of stories and working as an editor. He rode the campaign buses, reported from the House of Commons, delved into the activities of serial killers and deconstructed the failures and successes of massive global corporations. 


    For detailed reports
    The Galley

    Help build the Media Club's "Melba Lent Woelflé Scholarship Fund."
    To contribute,  e-mail Valerie Knowles

    To add, change, or remove anything from this site, you may send your request HERE.

    Powered by 10dollar domains Canada